Book Reviews from Patricia McConnell

RELATED BLOGS FROM “THE OTHER END OF THE LEASH”

New Book! “Becoming a Therapy Dog Team” July 2021

Biology of Dogs: Book Review November 2020

Treat Everyone Like a Dog: My New Best Book Ever October 2020

Book Review: Wag — The Science of Making Your Dog Happy May 2020

Solace. March 2020

The Eye of the Trainer by Ken Ramirez March 2020

Dog is Love by Clive Wynne October 2019

The Books on My Bookshelf August 2019

Book Review: Deep Creek March 2019

Book Reviews: The Dog & The First Domestication February 2019

Book Review: Joyful-Dog Play Personified October 2018

Book Review: Late Summer Version August 2018

New Cover! Education of Will Paperback Coming Soon. January 2018

Book Review: Great Gift Books for Dog & Nature Lovers. December 2017

Book Review: How to Tame a Fox. November 2017

Book Review: From Fearful to Free. October 2017

In Case of Flood: Comments re My Book Review. October 2017

Book Review: Let Dogs Be Dogs. September 2017

Want a laugh? “Peanut Butter Dogs” Guarantees It April 2017

Book Review: The Domestic Dog, edited by James Serpell March 2017

Well, This is Awkward: Christmas Book Ideas December 2016

Dogs, Dog Food and Dogma: A Review November 2016

Fall Book Review 2016 October 2016

Holidays Schmalidays? (Fun with Gifts for Dog Lovers) December 2015

BOOK REVIEWS FROM “THE OTHER END OF THE LEASH”

Great Books for Gifting

Alex and Me, Irene Pepperberg

American Lambs, T. Yamamoto

The Art of Racing in the Rain, Garth Stein

Authentic Happiness, Martin Seligman

Away to Me DVD

Becoming Animal, David Abram

The Behavior Guide to African Mammals, Richard Despard Estes

Being a Dog: Following the dog Into a World of Smell, Alexandra Horowitz

Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End, Atul Gawande

The Brain That Changes Itself, Norman Doidge, M.D.

Chase!, Clarissa von Reinhardt

Decoding Your Dog, American College of Veterinary Behaviorists

The Divine Life of Animals, Ptolemy Tompkins

Dog Food Logic, Linda Case

Dog Sense, John Bradshaw

Dogs Can Sign Too, Sean Senechal

The Dog Trainer’s Resource 3, APDT Chronicle of the Dog

The Dog Who Knew Too Much, Spencer Quinn

Don’t Sleep, There Are Snakes, Daniel Everett  Part I, Part II

The Expression of the Emotions in Man and Animals, Charles Darwin

Give a Dog Your Heart, Aubrey Fine, Ed.D.

Handbook on Animal-Assisted Therapy, Aubrey Fine, Ed.D.

The Hearts of Horses, Molly Gloss

Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis, J. D. Vance

How to Foster Dogs: From Homeless to Homeward Bound, Pat Miller

In Dogs We Trust, LB Hodge

In the Kingdom of Gorillas, Bill Weber and Amy Vedder

Let’s Take the Long Way Home, Gail Caldwell

Low Stress Handling, Dr. Sophia Yin

Made for Each Other, Meg Daley Olmert

Magnificent Mind at Any Age, Daniel Amen

Nim Chimpsky, Elizabeth Hess

Our Faithful Companions: Exploring the Essence of Our Kinship with Animals, Aubrey H. Fine

Our Souls at Night, Kent Haruf

Part Wild, Ceiridwen Terrill

Plenty in Life is Free, Kathy Sdao

Possibility Dogs, Susannah Charleson

Pukka’s Promise, Ted Kerasote

Reaching the Animal Mind, Karen Pryor

Remarkable Creatures, Sean Carroll

Scent of the Missing, Susannah Charleson  Part I, Part II, Part III

Scientific American Mind

Secret Service Dogs: The Heroes Who Protect the President of the United States, Maria Goodavage

Some We Love, Some We Hate, Some We Eat, Hal Herzog

Speaking for Spot, Dr. Nancy Kay, DVM

Subliminal, Leonard Mlodinow

Therapy Dogs Today, Kris Butler

Through a Dog’s Ear

Unlocking the Animal Mind, Franklin McMillan

What the Dog Knows, Cat Warren

A Wolf Called Romeo, Nick Jans

A Wolf in the Parlor, Jon Franklin  Part I, Part II

Your Dog’s Best Health, Nancy Kay

 

RELATED BOOKS

   

Training Your Dog

Here’s the good news: It’s fun to train your dog! Here’s the bad news: You have to learn how. More good news: It’s not hard to learn. . . and this is a great place to get started.

Behavior & Health

If you’re interested in canine cognition, communication, social systems & nutrition (plus a host of other topics!), look here to start seeing your dog in an entirely new light!

Behavior Problems

Here’s help for dogs of every description, from cautious canines to feisty fidos. Click below for videos, articles, books and DVDs that will help you help your dog.

Finding Resources

Links to other great websites & information on becoming a professional trainer or behaviorist, questions for your veterinarian, and everything in between!

HAVE YOU READ TRISHA’S MEMOIR?

"The Education of Will delves deep into the minds of people and dogs, and into the effects of trauma, showing that healing is possible. McConnell gives a voice to those who can’t speak in words and provides hope for fearful animals everywhere."

—Temple Grandin, author of Animals Make Us Human and Animals in Translation.

What Others Are Saying